Citroen RT4 Problem (Solved)

This unit is the RT4 and RT5 system and is made by Magneti Marelli
Main differences between RT4 & RT5 - RT5 has Bluetooth Hands Free, faster Navigation calculation and on C4 & C4 Picasso only, USB ports and a High-Res screen.

Moderator: RichardW

FlyMike_88
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Jun 2020, 00:00
x 1

Citroen RT4 Problem (Solved)

Unread post by FlyMike_88 »

Hello all!

Just picked up my Citroen C5 Exclusive last week. Brilliant car and super silky smooth suspension, love it.

The previous owner told me that the RT4 unit packed in and so it was replaced by a complete unit (screen and head unit) sourced by themselves. The only problem....the unit only has Polish language :roll:

Is there a way to get the language changed back to English? Software update via CD? MiraScript?

Thanks again, appreciate any help!

Mike

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19905
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1942

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by GiveMeABreak »

Hi and welcome

The language should be able to be changed from the unit itself. Access this screen then the configuration option I have circled in Red to change the language.

Click Image to Zoom
RT4 Menu.PNG

FlyMike_88
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Jun 2020, 00:00
x 1

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by FlyMike_88 »

Thanks for the quick reply GiveMeABreak. I've had a look under that menu and all I have is this (google translated)

Image

Thoughts? I removed the HDD from the original headunit that was broken and thinking of doing a HDD swap to see if that would fix it?

Thanks, Mike.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19905
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1942

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by GiveMeABreak »

It looks like it has already been misconfigured at some point, probably by the previous user...

Make sure you have the firmware CD handy in case things go toes up - but to save repeating, have a look here, 5th post down:

http://c4owners.org/plugins/forum/forum ... ?85260.135

FlyMike_88
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Jun 2020, 00:00
x 1

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by FlyMike_88 »

Thank you! I’ll give that a go and let you know how I get on.

Mike

FlyMike_88
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Jun 2020, 00:00
x 1

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by FlyMike_88 »

So I've plugged the old HDD into the headunit and it just seems to keep restarting at the Citroen Logo. I can hear the HDD clicking off which is odd as the HDD works fine when plugged into the computer.

So I've then went to look at the files on the existing HDD what works (albeit in Polish language). Following the guide from the thread linked above:

"Here is what you need to do to have the "change language" .
Go to the HDD partition that contains the user profile files, open the "user data" then "user profile".
Once you do that, go to subfolder "supervisor", there you will find "no source status W050" set to 1, change this to 0 and save, voila! "

I get to the User Profile folder and there is no "Supervisor", only what is in the attached pic.

Image

Any thoughts? I don't really know where to go from here.

Thanks, Mike

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19905
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1942

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by GiveMeABreak »

Hi Mike.

Do you have an original Firmware CD that came with the car?

If you do I suggest that you reset the unit, With the engine running, insert the firmware CD, then hold in the DARK button on the Head unit for at least 5 seconds or so until the unit reboots. When it restarts does anything change?

FlyMike_88
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Jun 2020, 00:00
x 1

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by FlyMike_88 »

Hey Marc,

I don't have a Firmware CD, nothing was handed over from the previous owner. Where can I get one? I think I read about downloading the software and burning to a CD but would prefer to buy it officially if possible. Would that be from a main dealer?

As a side note, I was given USB cable with the black connector that goes into the back of headunit! Bonus

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19905
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1942

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by GiveMeABreak »

I strongly suggest you order the firmware CD from the dealer. Reason being is that copying and burning from a file to a CD-R are fraught with issues that can cause installation errors if not burned at the correct speed and format.

It's cheap enough at £7.93 inc. VAT. You'll need to quote the following part number to Citroen Parts for the software CD: 9679242580.

The USB you are referring to was another modification from the previous owner as this unit did not come with USB access for the Head unit. That tells me that there has been some 'updating' or 'other shenanigans' to the unit and probably why it is in the state it is.

Guard the CD carefully and prevent any scratches from getting on it though.

FlyMike_88
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Jun 2020, 00:00
x 1

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by FlyMike_88 »

Great, thank you very much! I'll get that ordered and report back.

Mike

FlyMike_88
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Jun 2020, 00:00
x 1

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by FlyMike_88 »

Okay, so an update.

I have checked the firmware version and it is already on 8.31.1.R1.

I am still awaiting delivery of the Firmware CD, it's on it's way. If the firmware is up to date, how am I going to get the language changed? Is there anyway to do a clean install?

Thanks,

Mike

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19905
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1942

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by GiveMeABreak »

Just insert the CD and it should ask if you want to update it. Even though it is the same version, I’m hoping that it will restore the unit to its default settings, so that you can change the language from the main setup menu on the unit. This is where you would change the language normally, but I think you said you can’t access this currently.

FlyMike_88
Posts: 15
Joined: 21 Jun 2020, 00:00
x 1

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by FlyMike_88 »

Marc,

I just wanted to update you and say thank you!

Got my firmware CD and popped it in this morning. 30 mins later it completed the update and the unit now has English!

Thanks again for your help!

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19905
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1942

Re: Citroen RT4 Problem

Unread post by GiveMeABreak »

No worries Mike, glad it is sorted for you. Just treat that CD like gold dust and keep it safe :-D