DIsabling start-stop

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

MagicMark

DIsabling start-stop

Post by MagicMark »

I've had some bad experiences with automatic stop-start features, and it's just through pure luck that I've not been in an accident. However it seems to have proliferated like a virus. There should be a way to disable this nasty feature permanently, however most cars that support it only have a temporary disable button.

Do any of the modern (2010 and later) French estate cars provide a way to disable it permanently? I may have to replace my beloved Citroen C5 Exclusive Estate shortly, but don't want a car that'll switch off when I need it to work.

Mark
RichardW
Forum Treasurer

Re: DIsabling start-stop

Post by RichardW »

You might be able to turn it off using diagbox. However, you don't really need to worry too much - Citroen have made it so sensitive that it only works for about 5 minutes after a new battery is fitted!
Richard W
MagicMark

Post by MagicMark »

Thank you, Richard. It would be good if it can be turned off. Some of these "green" features introduce significant safety risks, and safety ought to take priority.
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Never had an issue when it does work - what sort of safety issues are you talking about. Most situations have been factored in to prevent any issues.

I don't believe there is an option to disable it directly though and looking at the BSI there are component settings that are set specifically for certain types of equipment - so changing any of these may have an adverse effect on vehicle operation (starter / air conditioning, voltage retention device, BCSU etc.

I think, as Richard mentioned, if you are getting a vehicle with this system (most nowadays) is to just temporarily disable it or leave it alone and it will eventually stop working as the battery capacity falls below 80% in any case.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help