How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28981
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3598

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Cool 8-)

Glad you have your system back up.
rallerix
Donor 2021
Posts: 6
Joined: 28 Oct 2021, 22:51

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by rallerix »

Hi folks,

just a short update:
As the ISO- method (CD/ USB) does'nt work for me I ordered the official CD "RT6 CD 2.86" (Order-No. 9691894880) and installed it on my "naked" internal CD- card.
It took about 45 Min. and all seems to be ok, even the system spoke German with me as it was before my initial operations. Another Reboot later it switches the language to slovakia. Oooph.
The system- menu had only two options, none of them was suitable for language- swapping.
So I read a little about the Mirascripts and here is the easiest method (at least in my case) to be able to switch the language:

1. Prepare an USB- Stick with the Mirascripts
2. Turn Radio on an insert USB- Stick
3. You are asked some questions: say NO to all except to the question "Run Setting?". Dial to the left Option "Ano" and push the Dial
4. in the Settings- Script again say NO to all options (NO means: unchanged) until you hit the Conf- Menu: here change to 1. NO to all others
5. When the system asks you to Reboot, Reboot
6. After that hit the system- Button and you find the text "Jazyka" which means "language" in slovakia. Did'nt you know it ? ;-)

So far, so good.

Unfortunately the BC- button on the right steering wheel stick does'nt work and the media- buttons below neither.

Maybe someone can give me a hint what config- parameter(s) this might be?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28981
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3598

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

This can happen with this update as it's a major firmware revision.

Your best bet is to dig a little deeper into mirascripts on some of the other forums to find the option to change this (if it exists), otherwise it is a dealer visit to configure as the ECU is put into secure mode, so generally can't be configured with Diagbox off line.
rallerix
Donor 2021
Posts: 6
Joined: 28 Oct 2021, 22:51

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by rallerix »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
19 Nov 2021, 23:41
This can happen with this update as it's a major firmware revision.

Your best bet is to dig a little deeper into mirascripts on some of the other forums to find the option to change this (if it exists), otherwise it is a dealer visit to configure as the ECU is put into secure mode, so generally can't be configured with Diagbox off line.
Yes, I think I will say hello to my dealer to get this 2 things fixed.
For now, I'm glad that after weeks of driving around in a quiet car almost everything works again and that my car speaks german to me again :-)
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28981
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3598

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Let un know how you get on - viel glück!
Mattautolec
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Oct 2021, 02:11

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by Mattautolec »

Slight Liszt wrote:
08 May 2021, 05:36
I have finally resolved the issue with my 508 SatNav, largely thanks to the advice from GiveMeABreak.
Thanks for you excellent guidance, Marc.

Following Marks lengthy procedure (I had the foresight to take a book with me whilst I sat in the car waiting for all the Firmware to re-load) the SatNav unit came to life, though in the Atlantic Ocean, off the west coast of Africa. i.e. Lat 0º Long 0º.

Everything worked fine, only the Map of Australia was missing.

So I repaired to the local Peugeot dealer and explained to the manager, (a bloody good bloke as they say in OZ), that I had recovered the unit for the cost of an $8 MircoSD card (less than his company’s quoted $3,250), but that I needed some more software loaded from Peugeot.

Being a little embarrassed at his companies quoted charge, he quietly did some research and got what was required, loaded it and , wow, it is all like new.
His charge was wink, wink, nod, nod and couple of bottles of Wolseley Pinot. The manager is French.

So thanks to everybody on the Forum who chipped in to help me.
Hi, Any chance of sharing that dealer with me?
Im in a very similar situation and dont want to pay for the maps if i can help it
Matty.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28981
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3598

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

@matty: The dealers don't provide free maps, you have to pay for updates on systems prior to the latest Connected NAV telematics units!

The OP was probably getting his unit configured to restore his vehicle options after a firmware update which is required for most vehicles when installing 2.86 firmware which he needed to do when recovering his unit after the MicroSD card replacement.

Dealers DO NOT supply maps they are only officially obtainable from Peugeot / Citroen navigation sites:

https://citroen.navigation.com/home/en_ ... enEMEA/GBP

https://peugeot.navigation.com/home/en_ ... otEMEA/GBP
rallerix
Donor 2021
Posts: 6
Joined: 28 Oct 2021, 22:51

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by rallerix »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
20 Nov 2021, 11:33
Let un know how you get on - viel glück!
Hi again,

my visit to the dealer was not so successful as far as the buttons on the steering column arm are concerned: despite reconfiguration, the following things still do not work:
- Button on the windshield wiper lever for the on-board computer
- Satellite control for the radio: Only the volume can be set here.

So I have to take this into my own hands. Can I possibly manage this with the mirascripts and if so: which parameters do I have to set?
Thank you in advance for more tips!
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28981
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3598

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

You almost certainly will be able to.

Unfortunately we don't support Mira Scrips here - for obvious reasons if anything goes 'toes up', but the info you need can probably be found from the same place you obtain Mira scripts from.
ariel2k2
Posts: 11
Joined: 21 Feb 2022, 20:03

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by ariel2k2 »

Hey! A pleasure to be here and read/share all this info. I'm having a personal experience right now.

My unit magneti marelli rneg2 cem00

The system started to do weird things like not booting and booting after some reboots during trips.

I was able to partially updated this but got stuck on "preparing the update" screen. MBR and other things was successfully done.

But of course now black screen and the only way to proceed is changing the corrupted sdcard and the good thing is that I can checked this and yes it's corrupted and broken (sector 0 damaged and can't be formatted).

I was able to disassemble all and I changed the sdcard to a 64gb bran new but still getting CRC ERROR trying to update from 2.70 last firmware running on unit to 2.85 (pendrive).

Does the unit support 64gb sdcard? I'm going to look for a used 2gb and I'll format it first and right after I'll delete all partitions before install it on the unit.

Advices will be very appreciated! And I hope my experience will be useful for more users! Thanks!
ariel2k2
Posts: 11
Joined: 21 Feb 2022, 20:03

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by ariel2k2 »

I forgot about something.

Can I unplug and remove the CD reader and use the RT6 without it? I saw that sometimes the CD rack brings problems so, I didn't use it. And now with the blank screen because I'm driving without any USB stick with update software plugged the CD unit is making a noise every 10 seconds.

Thanks in advance for all the help!
User avatar
Paul-R
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 5801
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 932

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by Paul-R »

64GB is probably too large as this uses exFAT formatting rather than FAT32. 32GB is as large you should go. If the card says it's an SD HC type then that's FAT32, SD XC is exFAT.

I haven't taken my RT6/eMyWay to pieces so I don't know what size is standard but I think doubling would be enough. 16GB might be enough.
ariel2k2
Posts: 11
Joined: 21 Feb 2022, 20:03

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by ariel2k2 »

Paul-R wrote:
21 Feb 2022, 22:46
64GB is probably too large as this uses exFAT formatting rather than FAT32. 32GB is as large you should go. If the card says it's an SD HC type then that's FAT32, SD XC is exFAT.

I haven't taken my RT6/eMyWay to pieces so I don't know what size is standard but I think doubling would be enough. 16GB might be enough.
Thanks bro. I'm removing the unit again now to try with a 2GB used SD card. I already did a complete formatting and right after I deleted the partition. So it's like bran new. No bad sectors... 2gb should work (?)
ariel2k2
Posts: 11
Joined: 21 Feb 2022, 20:03

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by ariel2k2 »

And about the CD unit noise I think that without the pendrive the noise every 10 seconds it's just the unit rebooting because the uncompatible 64gb unit. I'll try now with the 2GB unit and right after results I'll reply here. Thanks. Any extra advise or data will be very useful and appreciated 🙂
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28981
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3598

Re: How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

2Gb is too small! If the media is too small it won't work as the system won't be able to create the partitions from the firmware. You'll need a class 10 16Gb MicroSD card.

You'll also need to get your CD back working as you won't be able to update via USB in this state (you'll keep getting CRC Media Errors). Then use the firmware on CD to reinstall.

Make sure you copy the 'User Data' folder from the old SD card first, as this has your vehicle configuration settings and vehicle options stored. You can copy this folder back afterwards.