Heater Blower

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

kinrsole
My Cars:

Heater Blower

Post by kinrsole »

My heater blower has just stopped working. I have done a search but the more I read the more confused I get [:I].
I have taken the blowner out and connected it to a 12 volt supply to the thick black and red wires which run directly into the motor and it worked OK. I have check the voltage from the thick red and black wires which come from under the dash into the heater blower resistor (I think this is what it as. The car has A/C) and get a reading of 6 volts. I have tried bypassing the resistor by connecting the thick black and red wire straight to the other thick red and black wires which go to the motor but nothing happened.
I'm not very good with electrics so could some one help pin point the problem.
I'm guessing it’s the resistor
Cheers
Kinrsole
NiSk
My Cars:

Post by NiSk »

If you have A/C then I'm afraid that it's not as simple as replacing a resistor - the fan motor is driven by an electronic circuit, the most common cause for failure is that one of a transistor pair - a so called "Darlington pair" has given up the ghost. You can either try and find a similar circuit board from a scrappy (it's the one directly behind the air control knobs (or display if you have fully electronic A/C), or try and get it fixed by a general electronics repair shop. Don't even think of going to Citroën - they will want more than you think your car is worth!
//NiSk
kinrsole
My Cars:

Post by kinrsole »

Sorry, I think you may have miss-understood the resistor I was referring to.
I meant the resistor which alters the speed of the fan which seems to be attached to the heater blower. If I bypass this using an external 12 supply then the fan works but not if I use the red and black wires which attach to the heater blower.
Are you suggesting it may be the heater controls which need replacing?
TomH
My Cars: