Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 59

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

Ah... One of those...

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by Stickyfinger »

Brain is shorting out trying to remember the name of the earlier Citroen reader :).............nope....nothing ....its a "Jim's special thingy" sort of thing.

ELIT ! (?)
Image

got there :)

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 59

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

ELIT, yep, that was before LEXIA.

My lead doesn't match up with this chinese pin out for the harness, either...
Image

Mine has the following, which that doesn't - B2, C2
That has following, which mine doesn't - C1

What a bloody pigs ear...

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by Stickyfinger »

Great init ..........European "standards" in the 90's.....love'em :)

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 59

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

There's a lovely load of genuine Citroen diagnostic equipment here (including at least one full complete LEXIA machine)...
http://www.ebay.de/sch/sis.html?_nkw=AC ... 7675.m4099
Unfortunately none of it is at DIY price!!!

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7662
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 437

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by xantia_v6 »

30 pin diagnostic socket connections (from Citroen documentation):

Image

Note that not all pins shown are used on the Xantia, but I think the relevant ones are in the right place

Check that the 12V is present on A1 and A2

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 43523
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1590

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by CitroJim »

H1 (crusie control diagnostic) is interesting... The old Hella vacuum cruise was never diagnosable so I wonder which one that is?

Iain, as said in the other thread, i have a known - goof 16 to 30 adaptor here and I could buzz that out.. You can then see which of the 30 pinouts map across to the 16 pinouts...

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 59

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

Thanks Jim,

I hadn't seen Mike's previous reply - looks like that thread might include the necessary information on pin-outs (and it confirms that the plug pin references are mirror image - so I guess the numbering is when viewed from the back of the plug, rather than the face) if you could also please bell out your known working lead and post here though, that would also be appreciated.

Mike, thanks for finding the other thread!

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 59

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

Right, going on this set of pin identifiers;
Image
From this post
My lead bells out as follows;
Image

Which is different in many regards to the lead in the post above, although the battery live, injection ECU K and Injection L lines match (which is the ECU I'm most interested in at the moment) and the chassis ground matches to one of the pins (thought I have a second pin).

I don't know what car that was successfully used on though (I'll pm Mandrake to see if he can advise further) so it would be good to see what your lead looks like please Jim, if that works on an s1 Xantia/Activa...

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 43523
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1590

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by CitroJim »

Give me an hour or so Iain and I'll buzz mine...

Both permanent live and switched live supplied are needed and in theory, as long as those are there and the K and L lines from the engine ECU are correctly mapped you should see the Engine ECU...

Have you confirmed your Lexia works OK on another car with a 16 pin socket?

Are you selecting the engine type as 'RGX' with MP3.2T Injection when trying to run a diagnostic?

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 43523
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1590

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by CitroJim »

Iain, using your notation in your pictures above, here's my buzz-out of a genuine Actia 16 -30 adaptor as originally supplied with my Lexia 2...

30pin 16pin
A2 1
G1 2
I2 3
A3 4
N/C 5
E1 6
C1 7
F3 8
H3 9
I1, I3 10
E2 11
E3 12
D2 13
F1 14
C2 15
A1 16


Hope that helps and it looks a bit different to yours...

Checked twice to ensure accuracy...

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 59

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

Thanks Jim. Definitely some differences in the wiring there then!
I've updated my pin out's scribbling as a back-back comparison (hence the crossing out to move I2/I3 down a line!);
Image
Crosses in the middle indicate where there are changes.

However, I have made some progress...
Checked the fuses and the layout in my fusebox isn't the same as the one I'd seen on the forum, i.e. F2 being the diagnostic socket fuse.
This is in my cars handbook;
Image
So checked F15 and...
Image
#-o :oops:

Of course the spare fuses slots were missing, the local garage had run out of ordinary sized blade fuses, the C5 didn't have 10amp in that size... So I robbed them out of the DTR sat on the drive :oops: poor thing

So, with that replaced, all sorted right? [-o<
Well yes, it was a lot more promising - when I set Lexia off to do the diagnostics, it took a long time to run through the dialogue screen, instead of racing through it. The PCI box also had relays clicking this time (I don't recall it doing that last time on the Xantia, although it did on the C5's, so that should have rung some alarm bells really)
Ah, but if only it were that simple...
Image

So we have communication with the injection ECU but the others are a no-go.

I'm going to stick with this being down to the 16-30 pin harness being wired incorrectly, as suggested earlier - looks like the injection ECU lines are correct but all the others ECU lines are wrong :evil:
I'll contact the seller to see if they can offer any help with alternative harnesses and will update the thread accordingly when I have any progress.

At least that does cover the most critical one at the moment though - I have the pin outs for the ABS ECU plug, so I can bell out the ABS sensors from there (again...) to find the latest offender.

Thanks all for their help on this.
Last edited by wurlycorner on 28 Dec 2015, 17:39, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 43523
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1590

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by CitroJim »

Excellent Iain :D I've been caught out by the lack of both supplies to the diagnostic socket in the past, and to the subtle differences in fuseboxes too..

I see the ECU prima-facie appears clear of faults but it's still worth going in and looking to see if any stored faults are present which there will be if the EML was on...

You need to get hold of a 16 pin OBD plug and a socket and make up a patchboard between them so you can experiment with wiring until it all works properly!

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 59

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

CitroJim wrote: I see the ECU prima-facie appears clear of faults but it's still worth going in and looking to see if any stored faults are present which there will be if the EML was on...
Ah... I will update the cars profile thread with further progress :wink:
Last edited by wurlycorner on 28 Dec 2015, 17:41, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by Stickyfinger »

Your doing great work there sorting these out, I wait your next instalment.