Swapping head unit

This unit is the RD4 or RD45 system, made by Continental.
Usually standard equipment unless another system is specified as an option. There are Single & Dual Tuner versions. RD45 features over the RD4: The RD45 has USB connectivity & integrated Bluetooth module supporting Phone & Audio Streaming.

Moderator: RichardW

Med_tech3
Posts: 54
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 12:18
x 1

Swapping head unit

Post by Med_tech3 »

I have just purchased a 2008 C3. It has the factory fitted cd/mp3 head unit but without bluetooth. I have a factory head unit from a 2011 207 which has bluetooth. Is there any way I can fit the bluetooth head unit to the C3 and get the bluetooth working?

Thanks
Simon
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25104
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2770

Re: Swapping head unit

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Not necessarily.

If you are talking about the RD4 system that you may already have and replacing it with an RD45 which has the integrated Bluetooth, then you will need to have a compatible multifunction screen with the correct software version to go with it. It is the MFD that does a lot of the work and in most cases controls the head unit.

The you will need it configured correctly for your vehicle using Diagbox.
Med_tech3
Posts: 54
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 12:18
x 1

Re: Swapping head unit

Post by Med_tech3 »

Thank you Marc.
I can get the display unit out of the 207. Would it fit the C3?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25104
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2770

Re: Swapping head unit

Post by GiveMeABreak »

They are pretty interchangeable but it is an EMF-C screen you need. If the screen was from the 207 that also had the same RD45 Head Unit with the bluetooth built in, then it will probably be fine, apart from the BSI / Head unit needing configuring.
Med_tech3
Posts: 54
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 12:18
x 1

Re: Swapping head unit

Post by Med_tech3 »

Thanks Marc. Do you have any recommendations of where I can get the software and cables I need for Diagbox?
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11864
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1461

Re: Swapping head unit

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

While the Forum has no association with them Easy Diagnostics offer a very good DiagBox setup. It has the full 'chipset' (as it were), and can 'read' pretty much any PSA vehicle. They are not cheap, but many people consider them worth the cost (I have an older unit, and wouldn't be without it). There is a discount available to long term Forum members, and Marc can tell you what that involves.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25104
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2770

Re: Swapping head unit

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Med_tech3 wrote:
01 Aug 2021, 21:39
Thanks Marc. Do you have any recommendations of where I can get the software and cables I need for Diagbox?
Have a look at my post here - there's a discount for members too:

viewtopic.php?t=60112