C5 Mk1 Loose Accelerator Pedal Adjustment

This is an ARCHIVE of common fixes. Material for this section should be submitted to an Admin or Moderator for approval then inclusion.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

C5 Mk1 Loose Accelerator Pedal Adjustment

Post by GiveMeABreak » 20 Feb 2016, 22:20

If your accelerator pedal is suffering from the 'droops', here's where you need to adjust it:

The accelerator cable has a fair bit of travel from the pedal to the throttle potentiometer and over time, you may find the pedal drops an inch or so. This of course will lead to reduced performance as there is too much slack.
The throttle sensor is housed in the nearside engine bay (next to bulkhead on battery side) under the fuse unit.
Remove the plastic covers, take out the fuse holder and you will see 2 x 10mm head bolts. Undo these to move aside the plastic compartment covering the throttle cable / potentiometer. There should be a circlip that fits over a corrugated plastic 'stop piece'. Adjust this as needed to give your throttle pedal a boost!

It has been noted that if you are built like a twiglet you may be able to access the unit without taking the fuse box out - it can be accessed from the side once the air intake housing is moved out the way - but is a bit tight!

faddy
Posts: 86
Joined: 09 Jun 2017, 16:19
x 4

Re: C5 Mk1 Loose Accelerator Pedal Adjustment

Post by faddy » 21 Aug 2017, 00:20

Presumably disconnecting the battery before messing with the fuse holder?

faddy
Posts: 86
Joined: 09 Jun 2017, 16:19
x 4

Re: C5 Immobiliser Fault

Post by faddy » 21 Aug 2017, 10:21

My question related to moving the fuse box to adjust the accelerator cable so should be with the other bit of the split thread....

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5801
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 237

Re: C5 Mk1 Loose Accelerator Pedal Adjustment

Post by xantia_v6 » 21 Aug 2017, 10:38

Split posts moved here (which I think is where they belong).