Self steering (DANGEROUS HELP)

This is the Forum for all your Renault Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Mellorj
My Cars: Renault clio mk 2 1.5 dci (80) 54 plate (all standard)

Self steering (DANGEROUS HELP)

Post by Mellorj »

Hi, first of all i must stress it's not like a tracking issue

This first happened a few months ago. I was going around a left turn, then the car felt as though I'd hit the kerb and the car turned right while I had the steering wheel in left position. I thought oops I'm a bad driver lol, anyways from then on for about a week the steering was light like the car is not adjusting to the speed as it electric assisted power steering but sorted its self out after a week so thought nothing of it just one of them things.

Then today my partner was driving with our 1yo in car. Going round a right long turn the car throwing wheel left so partner counter steers and so on long story short Nearly had a head on crash and also ditch with the road been wet

Has anyone got any ideas as just throwing money at this will cost more then cars worth

Thanks for looking
Last edited by elma on 06 Jan 2017, 16:26, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Readibility
Mellorj

Re: Self steering (DANGERIOUS HELP)

Post by Mellorj »

Sorry its a clio mk 2 1.5 dci (80) 54 plate all standard
elma
My Cars: Undisclosed

Re: Self steering (DANGEROUS HELP)

Post by elma »

My Scenic does this if you drive it with the battery flat. It feels like the steering wheel is being shunted in the wrong direction and is really dangerous. I'd check your battery and alternator first as like you mentioned theres an electric motor in the steering which changes the weight of the steering according to speed. Failing that I'd suggest you find someone with Canclip, which is the Renalt diagnostics computer, and have the steering angle and speed sensors checked.