Clio - it's raining in!

This is the Forum for all your Renault Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Mick F

Clio - it's raining in!

Post by Mick F »

Hi guys, newbie here, and I hope you can help me.

We have a 2001 Clio Initiale owned since brand new - done 84,000miles - and since early December last year, it's been raining in and soaking the front carpets.

By parking facing downhill, we can keep the wetness at the front, but parking the other way round results in the rear carpets getting wet. Facing downhill never gets the rear wet, it just migrates there due to gravity if the car faces up hill later. The wetness tends to be in the driver's footwell, but every so often it's in the passenger side too. Sometimes the water has been half an inch deep!

So far I have done:
Cleaned the drains out inside the scuttle n/s and o/s - they were well clogged with dead leaves and "compost".
Cleaned out the drain inside the pollen filter housing.
Cleaned the rain cover above the air inlet/blower housing.
Cleaned the front door drains and the sunroof drains too.
Checked the door seals.

From loads of head scratching and investigating, it would appear the water is coming in through the floor-well heater ducting, and no matter what I've found and done, the rain still gets in. If the rain is gentle, there's no problem, but if it's heavy rain, it gets in.

What have I missed?

Thanks guys and regards to you all,
Mick.
Last edited by Mick F on 11 May 2013, 10:01, edited 1 time in total.
Fake Concern
My Cars:

Re: Clio - it's raining in!

Post by Fake Concern »

Hi
Are you sure it's not the sunroof leaking? I have taken off & re sealed the glass roofs on both my daughters Mk2 Clios.
Symptons were just like yours, we didn't notice the headlining going soggy for ages. A suprising amount of water runs down the pillar & appears in the footwell, on one of them I had to take the carpets & underlay out to dry off.
May not be this, but worh a look!