Dead clarion head unit?

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

Spurious
Posts: 36
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 15:03
x 2

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by Spurious » 07 Jan 2018, 15:50

They remote key fob is dead. It works in the ignition so I'm guessing so I'm guessing it just needs a new battery for the central locking to work.

Is it okay to just use the key in the door for the locking and unlocking steps?
0

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9296
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 710

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 07 Jan 2018, 16:56

When you get the new battery in the fob, you'll probably need to reinitialise the fob - to do that, just insert the fob key into the ignition, turn ignition on and hold the 'lock' button down for up to 10 seconds, remove, shut door and then lock and unlock the car a few times with the fob. Then start the car to make sure it's all ok.

Remember with these, if you lock the key with the remote using the fob button, then it needs to be unlocked using the same - if you unlock with the key it will probably set of the alarm (if fitted), then just insert key into ignition and turn on to deactivate it.
0

wurlycorner
Posts: 1431
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 51

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by wurlycorner » 08 Jan 2018, 17:11

If the unit is coded to the car, it still turns on and works fully - it just beeps at you loudly, continuously.

Sounds like no power to me. Is there an internal fuse in the stereo?
0

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9296
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 710

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 08 Jan 2018, 17:48

I think you meant to say if it is not coded to the car it will beep at you. :wink:

The fuse has been checked (F20).
So I suspect either the controlling display ECU or the Head Unit has just crapped out.

Here's a second hand replacement for £15 + £5 shipping:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CITROEN-C5-E ... SwttVaQlVo

Might be worth a few quid to test the unit (you won't need to VIN code it just to test it) - but it will turn on and work while it beeps at you - but should rule out whether it is the head unit that is naff or not.
1

Spurious
Posts: 36
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 15:03
x 2

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by Spurious » 09 Jan 2018, 16:36

Thanks GiveMeABreak.

The BSI reset didn't work tbh. Head unit is still dead.

I got a ISO adaptor harness in the post there, I'll switch the head unit, I've a spare in the attic. It's cheaper in the long run. Despite the break in the looks of the dash, the new head unit is discreet enough and has bluetooth. More functionality, I can listen to TuneIn/Google Maps/Spotify on the go.

Hopefully that works :)
0

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9296
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 710

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 09 Jan 2018, 16:47

Ok, best of luck :wink:
1

Spurious
Posts: 36
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 15:03
x 2

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by Spurious » 12 Jan 2018, 16:56

Okay, so I swapped it for a bluetooth compatible Sony head unit. I forgot about a facia plate, but I'll get that in the future. Few other things; get an adaptor for the steering wheel control and move the live feed to the 12v cig lighter feed so it shuts off with the ignition. But it's working. Something to listen to whilst in the car.

Image
0

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9296
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 710

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 12 Jan 2018, 17:03

0

Spurious
Posts: 36
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 15:03
x 2

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by Spurious » 12 Jan 2018, 17:05

GiveMeABreak wrote:
12 Jan 2018, 17:03
Look fine to me

Fascia here:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Fascia-Facia- ... 0005.m1851


Hey, I'd only found that on ebay. Great minds think alike hahah :-D
0

wurlycorner
Posts: 1431
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 51

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by wurlycorner » 13 Jan 2018, 16:06

Radio should shut off with the ignition, when plugged into the standard wiring/no mods required? (That's how mine worked anyway).

Does the radio part of the loom have a swappable link between the permanent 12v and switchable 12v?
0

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 9296
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 710

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by GiveMeABreak » 13 Jan 2018, 18:26

The +Permanent is needed for the operation of the Radio - so if the park shunt is set to +APC instead of + Permanent, it won't operate with the ignition off.

The RD3 original unit power on / off requests are handled by the multifunction screen via the +VAN network.
0

wurlycorner
Posts: 1431
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 51

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by wurlycorner » 14 Jan 2018, 17:43

Yeah I'm talking about mine after I swapped it to an aftermarket unit, Not on the oem that it came with- it turns on/off with ignition fine and I haven't done anything with the wiring loom (OK I have installed the connects 2 stalk control adapter but that doesn't affect this AFAIK and I actually ran the stereo for a while without it first, just plugged into the standard car ISO connectors)

If an aftermarket loom has been used here and ignition live in on the new loom has been connected to permanent live supply on the car loom (that's what I meant) then the stereo will work fine but not turn on-off with ignition and it may be possible to swap or reconfigure that, on the after market loom. Some pioneers and alpines I've fitted, come with swapable connectors on the +12v lines, specifically for that.
0

wurlycorner
Posts: 1431
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 51

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by wurlycorner » 27 Jan 2018, 19:22

Just ref my previous comments about ability to swap ignition and acc live previously, today I was digging out a stereo for someone else and bingo! In the back was exactly what I was talking about;

Image
Bullet connectors that allow you to configure it to only come on with ignition, or work at all times from battery live (plugging the radio side acc into the car side battery will give you latter functionality)
Last edited by wurlycorner on 05 Feb 2018, 10:50, edited 1 time in total.
1

Spurious
Posts: 36
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 15:03
x 2

Re: Dead clarion head unit?

Post by Spurious » 29 Jan 2018, 15:16

Thanks Iain, I'll have another look during the weekend and see what's going on.
0