RT3 RD4 SatNav replacement...

This is the RT3 unit and was made by Magneti Marelli
The RT3 was available in a few different hardware versions, the later ones supporting MP3 playback. These units had an optical connection to the Display Screen.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
nonnus
Posts: 18
Joined: 05 Apr 2012, 18:26
Location: Lisbon
My Cars: Citroen Xantia 2.0HDi Activa
Citroen C5 2.0Hdi Exclusive

RT3 RD4 SatNav replacement...

Post by nonnus » 13 Sep 2017, 18:05

hello...

I have a doubt about the RT3 DR4 head units.
I have a Citroen C5 Mk2 (2004) with RT3 RD4 SatNav head unit... and I realise that there is a Head Unit that it is very much the same but it has Mp3 decoder it also rt3 rd4... mine rt3 rd4 does not... insted the symbol in the bottom left corner is "compact Disc" not Mp3.

The doubt is if I can change the head unit with MP3 and have not problems with source configurations like satnav, climatization etc??!
Did anyone tryed this and it works??
0x

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 8153
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
Location: West Wales
My Cars: '09 C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive Mativoire Beige (The Golden Hornet)
'07 C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive Aluminium Grey (The Silver Hornet)
Past:
'76 GS 1000 Cedreat Yellow (yuk)
'79 GS 1220 Geranium Red
'78 CX 2.4 Turbo Prestige C-Matic Nevada Beige
'84 CX 20 Polar White
'90 XM 2.0 SX Polar White
'93 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Polar White
'94 XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Emerald Green Pearlescent
'98 C15 Romahome White
'99 Xantia 2.0 HDi SX Hermes Red
'01 C5 2.0 HDi SX Wicked Red
'05 C5 2.0 HDi Exclusive Obsidian Black
x 590

Re: RT3 RD4 SatNav replacement...

Post by GiveMeABreak » 16 Apr 2018, 22:14

I know this is a bit old, but to answer the question for completeness, yes, you can change the Head Unit for the MP3 version, but it will only play MP3 files from an MP3 CD. You will also need to VIN code the replacement unit, and ensure that all the options on your car are correctly configured in the head unit of the RT3 ECU.
0x
Marc