Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 60

Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

Second time I've tried to do this and the car stubbornly refuses to play ball, at all.

So, some help/ideas please guys as to how to sort this :evil:
Bit of background - The Lexia was bought from a reputable (FCF recommended) seller and I've successfully used my Lexia to talk to 2x Mk1 c5's. My Activa has previously refused to talk to 3 different after-market diagnostic tools (of varying expense - not mine, but mobile diagnostic techs).
I'm suspicious therefore that it's the car that's the problem, not the Lexia. However, talking to the Activa does of course use an extra connector that the C5 doesn't need...

A few pics:
Connectors galore;
Image
Clip removed, so the plug goes properly home;
Image

Tried connecting by automatic detection and manual.
Automatic;
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Manual;
Image
Image
Image
Image

I also tried it starting with ignition off and only turning it on when told and also with the ignition on. No difference in how it proceeds.

Into Lexia;
Image
Global test;
Image
Image
Dutifully followed instruction;
Image
Results;
Image
Image

Went into the injection ECU and picked the right option;
Image
Image
Image

Same for ABS;
Image

Suspension...;
Image

Even tried the firmware writing option;
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

I also tried Scantool (never used this before, so no idea what it actually does, but whatever!)
Image
Image
Image
Image


FWIW, some of the setup information for the tool;
Image
Serial number of tool;
Image
(I have screen dumps of the extra info as well if anyone wants to see, e.g.)
Image


Soooo... Any thoughts please people?
Or anyone with a Lexia that they know talks to S1 Xantia's that can pop round by any chance?

wheeler
Posts: 4807
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 237

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wheeler »

If it talks to the C5 ok that kind of suggests the problem may lie with the 30 pin adaptor ??

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 60

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

That was hence my thought at the start of the post, but it was from a reputable seller who says he checks all items before despatch...

Has anyone got the pin outs for the 2 connectors, so I can bell them out?

Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11574
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1333

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

It might be that the sliding latch is holding the connectors apart (instead of securing them together). I have heard of this on the forum. I believe I also read that to resolve this you take the sliding piece off the connector.

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 60

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

Hell Razor5543 wrote:It might be that the sliding latch is holding the connectors apart (instead of securing them together). I have heard of this on the forum. I believe I also read that to resolve this you take the sliding piece off the connector.
Yep, that's a really good suggestion, but, ummm...
Clip removed, so the plug goes properly home;
Image
Had previously picked up on that one and dealt with it ;-)

Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11574
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1333

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

Sorry that I missed that. Busy day doing LOTS of driving. Not much achieved though (but not down to me, thank goodness).

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 60

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

:D no worries at all, appreciate the reply :)

Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11574
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1333

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

Just a thought. I recall a couple of people having issues reading the ECUs, and it turned out the fuse that managed the diagnostics port had blown. Changing the fuse sorted it out. I don't know the strength of the fuse though.

superloopy
Posts: 3305
Joined: 30 Mar 2005, 03:25

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by superloopy »

I'd be inclined towards the cable pinouts ... there's a fair number of discussions about this as i remember. It's possible that you're lead isn't compatible with your existing system i suppose. I'd start pingine each cable end and establishing what talks to what as a first off (gives us time to dig up the previous discussions, one of which was mine!). Try a search using 'pinout' as your starter for 10!

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by Stickyfinger »

Mine does this also, Jim however could read the engine ecu with his special lexia (digi-thing-box).

My Lexia works with all the C5's I have had, numerous old Pugs that have visited and a couple of later Xantia.....but not my (1997) V6-Activa....dreading getting problems :(

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 60

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

Rapidly losing my rag with the research.

30 pin connector pin out was fairly easy to find via goggle/FCF (courtesy of shane aussiefrogs )
Image

However, looking for pin outs on OBD2 for Citroen just pulls up one conflicting diagram after another :roll: :mecker:

Haynes is of course (-expletive removed-) useless in this regard and my official Citroen wiring diagram books don't cover that part of the car (I need another book) :roll:

So I decided to reverse test it, by belling out my lead to see what is connected to what. Of course, the connectors are moulded (can't be taken apart) and I discovered that the pin connections on the OBD2 connector are way too tight to allow any test lead in there :evil:
Must be said, the quality of the 30 pin connector is absolutely s**t, too. The pins are all over the place in their individual sockets.
Last edited by wurlycorner on 27 Dec 2015, 22:00, edited 1 time in total.

wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 60

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

Hell Razor5543 wrote:Just a thought. I recall a couple of people having issues reading the ECUs, and it turned out the fuse that managed the diagnostics port had blown. Changing the fuse sorted it out. I don't know the strength of the fuse though.
F2 10amp apparently.
Also does "CPH" (whatever that is?), Speed Sensor, Overspeed Audible Warning, Coolant Temperature Warning.
:-k
I'll check it.

superloopy
Posts: 3305
Joined: 30 Mar 2005, 03:25

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by superloopy »


wurlycorner
Posts: 1402
Joined: 30 Oct 2012, 23:37
x 60

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by wurlycorner »

Interestingly, looking at the 30 pin connector... My plug doesn't have any numbering/lettering on it, so all I can go on for reference is the 'upside down T' of the plastic moulding around each line of 3 pins.
On that basis, the diagram corresponds to my plug oriented like this;
Image

That means the wired pins don't match the XM wiring diagram at all :evil:
I have the following pins wired;
B2, B3
C2, C3
D1
E1 E3
F1, F2, F3
H1, H2,H3
J1, J3


Citrojim, if yours has successfully talked to dodgy s1 Xantia's can you please post a pic of your 30-pin connector and confirm what the pin-outs are?

Thanks

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: Why won't my Activa talk to Lexia?

Post by Stickyfinger »

NOT his Lexia....his "other thing box electric reader" thingy