xantia 1900 turbo diesel question again

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

ukmobileman
My Cars:

xantia 1900 turbo diesel question again

Post by ukmobileman »

update to t/d knackered head on xantia 1993
then camshaft seized in the middle bearing and snapped the new cam shaft at no. 7 and 8 valves or no. 4 cylinder and shattered the cam cap.(middle)
the car was on tickover out of gear ( i know i was topping up water)it had been runnuing for 5 mins +
i had just had head skimmed / rebuilt by my local machine shop ( a very honest chap who i have used several times before with no problems)
it use to have a carboard 2 notch gasket (not original)
on advice of machine shop i fitted a 3 notch metal laminated gasket which is 0.04mm thicker (to allow for skimming ?)
new bolts, cleaned block threads with correct size tap (i am a fully trained mechanic )of course a new t/belt
used a torque wrench and angle guage
plenty of cam lube, changed oil, filter and even the micro filter in the turbo supply pipe
spun the motor over before i bleed diesel to build oil pressure up
started up first go. oil light out the moment it fired up
no smoke or clatter smooth idle from word go
no warning just went clunk and stopped dead belt still intact
my guess is no oil supply to middle camshaft bearing
andbody want to hazard a guess as to why?
my thinking is as a cam was new it may have been the wrong one ? i doubt it though
oil pump knackerd doubt that either as this car use to cruise at 90 on motorway for 50-60 miles
or the gasket restricted the oil flow? it was a FAI autoparts gasket these i have found to be one of the better gaskets i have used
i'll just put it down to bad luck!!!
does anybody know if the valves break the head of the pistons or if they just mark them (i have not stripped it yet)
as i will just put another head on if i can (s/h after the expense of the last head)