Gauging interest in upcoming production run of LDS Pipe Fittings

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Jay-Bruce
(Donor 2022)
My Cars: BMW 635D
Citroen C5 Tourer (X7) 3.0HDi Exclusive
407 Coupe 2.7vh HDI
206 gti180
206 GranTurisme (Sold)
BX Gti16V (Phase2)

Gauging interest in upcoming production run of LDS Pipe Fittings

Post by Jay-Bruce »

TLDR: I'm going to be making and selling LDS pipe ends, who's interested in buying some?

Hi, some of you may already know me, but for those that don't, Jay Bruce is my real name is my forum name, no masks or secrets, I'm a freelance engineer, and I'm also a citroen enthusiast, the first car I can remember was our CX estate, later my parents in their decidedly finite wisdom replaced that car with a string of conventional cars, but in the nineties one of my friends dads had a BX, so hydropneumatics remained a part of my life. Later on my first car was a BX, and I later bought a BX 'valver, which sadly now needs restored, but will get a "whatever it takes" restoration. I'm also a hydractively suspended citroen owner, owning a C5 x7 3.0hdi exclusive tourer, so I am all too aware of the looming problems we face with rapidly corroding pipe work for which replacement parts are either practicably or totally unavailable. For example, when changin all 7 spheres recently I discovered that I've got this bundle of joy to sort:

As a BX owner, I know Pleiades can supply kuni pipe, pipe nuts, rubber seals and flaring tools to make our own LHM pipe ends, but I know that there aren't any suppliers of LDS ends; yet... So, I've taken it upon myself to reverse engineer the LDS fittings, and make replacements. If you look at the following picture of a LDS end from our X7....

...you will probably see that the pipe end assembly / fitting in that picture bares more than a passing resemblance to the following screenshot of my early CAD models...