How do you disable the C5 TRAFFICMASTER!!!!

Our most popular forum is for Citroën problems, discussions and chat.
Specialising in AX, BX, ZX, Xantia,C5, Xsara, Saxo and XM. CX, 2cv & Berlingo, all are welcome.NOT for selling cars/parts!

Moderator: RichardW

amjake
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:10 pm
Location:
My Cars:

How do you disable the C5 TRAFFICMASTER!!!!

Postby amjake » Sat Jan 22, 2011 8:38 am

Have C5 HDi Auto with Trafficmaster and it goes offf all the time when you dont start first time.

Couldn't find a disable in C5 manual.

I dont need them to remind me of the no. and that the licence has expired allthe bl**dy time!!!

Please please please help me before I am MASTERED!!!!


Kevin
0 x

User avatar
Citroenmad
Posts: 9454
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:08 pm
Location: Northeast
My Cars:

Postby Citroenmad » Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:13 am

Press in the traffic master button and keep it pressed for about 5-10 seconds, should solve it.

The button is the one above the drivers side glovebox on S1 C5s or near the hazard switch on C5 II.
0 x
Chris
16 C4 Cactus BlueHDi Flair
54 Audi A2 FSi SE
51 VW Passat V6 TDi Estate

Family Citroens:
64 C4 Cactus BlueHDi Feel Red
15 C3 Picasso 1.6HDi Exclusive
56 C5 2.0HDi 138 16v VTR Estate
95 C15 6-wheel
55 Traction 6H

amjake
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:10 pm
Location:
My Cars:

Postby amjake » Sun Jan 23, 2011 2:43 pm

Thanks Citroenmad

It seemed to cure it but its back in the garage now as the other fault still being looked at again
0 x

Online
User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11635
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:30 pm
Location: Katzenellen Bogen by the Sea
My Cars: 2003 C5 2.0 HDi 110 SX 209,300
x 36

Postby myglaren » Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:54 pm

The TM often comes on if the engine is stalled, on restart.
your engine shouldn't fail to start first time though - presumably this is why it is going into the garage?
0 x
________________________________
Steve

Jackie Evancho...Divine!

User avatar
Trainman
Posts: 2673
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:58 am
Location: Penwortham
My Cars: Citroen C6 Exclusive, DS Automobiles DS4 DStyle
Contact:

Postby Trainman » Sun Jan 23, 2011 7:14 pm

another option is to keep pressing the button on the end of the wiper stalk, when I did that on mine, it gave me a free licence :wink:

:lol: :lol: :lol:
0 x
Steve

2007 C6 2.7 V6 Exclusive in Mauritius Blue
2015 DS4 1.6 DStyle eHDi in Aluminium Grey with Virtual Blue

Head Admin for C6Owners.org

THELABMAN
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Motherwell, Scotland
My Cars:

Postby THELABMAN » Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:18 pm

Not sure about totally disabling it but two quick presses on the button in succesion should put it into manual mode and it will give an annoucement when the button is pressed..... That's on my S1 model though.
0 x
Citroen C5 2.0 HDI SX Hatchback - 2002 (52)
Xantia Sensation 1.9TD (T) Mallard Green (Gone to the breakers)

User avatar
Citroenmad
Posts: 9454
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:08 pm
Location: Northeast
My Cars:

Postby Citroenmad » Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:20 pm

Ive never subscribed to it, but once when going up the A1 my C5s trafficmaster sprung into life, the light lit up on the dash, and its warned me that the road ahead was clear or something.

My current C5 doesnt have trafficmaster, it was deleted sometime in late 2005 or early 2006.
0 x
Chris
16 C4 Cactus BlueHDi Flair
54 Audi A2 FSi SE
51 VW Passat V6 TDi Estate

Family Citroens:
64 C4 Cactus BlueHDi Feel Red
15 C3 Picasso 1.6HDi Exclusive
56 C5 2.0HDi 138 16v VTR Estate
95 C15 6-wheel
55 Traction 6H

User avatar
reblack68
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 2:28 am
Location: United Kingdom
My Cars:

Postby reblack68 » Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:06 am

I disconnected it altogether, I'll have a think and try to remember what I did.
0 x
Richard

2001 C5 1.8 LX LPG
2002 C5 HDi 110 LX Estate

amjake
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:10 pm
Location:
My Cars:

Postby amjake » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:37 pm

I would love to know what you did as had some success with the "15 second button hold" however the bl**dy thing has come back to life!!!!

Good News

I found this via google on another forum...

"If the traffic master is getting on your nerves. Remove the glove box and look straight ahead and you'll see a black box just unplug it and thats the trafficmaster off. If you want it back on just plug it back in"

Shall update tomorrow

Kevin
0 x

wheeler
Posts: 3280
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 7:07 pm
Location: United Kingdom
My Cars:
x 6

Postby wheeler » Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:55 pm

Thats correct about the unit behind the glovebox but if i remember right if you just unplug it you wont get any sound from the radio at all as the speakers are in series with the unit, you need to do a bit of rewiring.
0 x

amjake
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:10 pm
Location:
My Cars:

Postby amjake » Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:35 pm

Hi all,

Removing the plug, as Wheeler rightly states, disconnects the audio as well.

Cutting the green wire on pin 3? the wire isn't green!!

As wheeler says there must be a way to rewire, I will find it!!
0 x

Online
User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11635
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:30 pm
Location: Katzenellen Bogen by the Sea
My Cars: 2003 C5 2.0 HDi 110 SX 209,300
x 36

Postby myglaren » Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:38 pm

amjake wrote:Hi all,
Cutting the green wire on pin 3? the wire isn't green!!


You should only ever cut the blue wire, when there is 3 seconds left before detonation.
0 x
________________________________
Steve

Jackie Evancho...Divine!

amjake
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:10 pm
Location:
My Cars:

Postby amjake » Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:36 am

What made me think a 'comedian' would provide an answer, shouldn't have left myself open!

Now where were we, How to disable the Trafficmaster or mistress in my case.....?
0 x

THELABMAN
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Motherwell, Scotland
My Cars:

Postby THELABMAN » Sat Feb 05, 2011 2:41 am

As I said I don't know about totally disabling but it can be turned on to manual mode so it doesn't announce anything unless you press the button.... my susbscription is still active but it does my head in so I run it on manual and only check it if i get solid red warning light.

Peter
0 x
Citroen C5 2.0 HDI SX Hatchback - 2002 (52)
Xantia Sensation 1.9TD (T) Mallard Green (Gone to the breakers)

daviemck2006
Posts: 3153
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:45 pm
Location: Macduff
My Cars:
x 50

Postby daviemck2006 » Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:10 pm

I tried disabling it by pressing the button for 10 seconds, did not make any difference to the trafficmaster, but the next time I tied to check my consumption on the trip computer, pressing the button on end of wiper stalk did nothing, I'm a bit peed off that it has stopped working. Bloody Citroen electrics! I think the c5 has sulked cos It's not being used a lot since my purchase of the pug 107. It is due some tlc, already got 2 new (to it anyway, came off a mates Fiat Stilo when he put on alloys) soon to get another 2 tyres and full set of discs and pads so it is still loved! Just wondering if trying to disable the trafficmaster has knackered the computer or if it is pure coincidence
0 x
Xantia Activa 1998 for fun
Peugeot 107 sportium for work

Sons
Skoda Fabia VRS 2004
Peugeot 205 1.6 gti 1990 with a 1.9 carburettor getting rebuilt slowly
Honda civic type r modified and brutal

Daughters
Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti sri 2008


Return to “Citroën”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests