Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

This is the place for all your Diagnostic related questions or advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11062
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 933

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by GiveMeABreak » 29 Mar 2018, 10:42

A couple of things:

Yes, the Diagbox uninstaller only installs the applications from the paths it originally installed to - the standalone version may well use a different folder structure.

Second, before changing anything - I've found a similar thread on C6 Owners that seems to be similar to your own situation, and this may have been down to the soldering in the VCI where the interface connects to the cable - it seems like a lot of the solder joints had come away....

http://c6owners.org/plugins/forum/forum ... .php?25230

I'm not quite sure of the outcome as he doesn't report back, but seemed to have the issue you are having AFTER re-soldering.

I think it would be wise to have a look inside and see - if the unit is out of warranty there is nothing to lose by opening it up. That and also trying it out on another PSA vehicle would seem like the sensible thing to do before doing anything else software related. So, either test your unit on another PSA car to see if it can communicate and / or get someone with another unit to check on your vehicle before you go any further.

sonoramicommando
Posts: 335
Joined: 07 Sep 2011, 11:03
x 4

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by sonoramicommando » 30 Mar 2018, 10:34

I did visually inspect the VCI innards and it looked ok (I'm an electronics dummy but I think I can spot bad solders).
I've been meaning to test out it on someone else's car - there is a 405 I can try it on, but it's some distance away so I just need to get around to it. There is another fellow with a 207 but he doesn't trust me with it... :(

harryp
Donor 2016
Posts: 621
Joined: 07 May 2011, 16:03
x 24

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by harryp » 11 Jul 2018, 22:45

Is there a list anywhere of the relative firmware and associated versions of the diagnostic software and to which vehicles they apply?
I ask as I have to use an older VCI for my Xantia (and incidentally my son's Peugeot '06 soft top) and the latest VCI for our '63 plate C4 Picasso, both running on V7.58 . Does seem very strange that the "new" VCI will not talk to the older vehicles. Is this because the firmware version is carried/used by the VCI?
Thanks and regards,
Harry

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11062
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 933

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by GiveMeABreak » 11 Jul 2018, 23:09

Hi Harry, because these are clone interfaces, there is bound to be some issues with the different versions. normally as you know Lexia will automatically launch for older vehicles and Diagbox for later cars. The Diagbox software updates the firm as necessary for the relevant version of Diagbox being installed.

However, for older cars, the VCI may need a lower firmware version for the VCI. My own unit launches Diagbox for my C5 X7, ut launches Lexia for the 07 C3. I am running Diagbox V7.62 IIRC and this is where it will remain at present. I do not need to change the firmware manually, as everything just works between the vehicles.

As not all the VCI interfaces are made equal, :-D there may of course be a double whammy with the hardware capabilities too.

Back to your question though, it doesn’t quite work like that in terms of what versions for what cars. Basically the firmware may stay the same for several incarnations of Diagbox, and will only change when there is a newer vehicle perhaps with a newer BSI or newer vehicle software, or newer ECUs on the vehicle, requiring the VCI interface to be updated in order to talk with them. Normally the interface is backward compatible though, except where there may be an older VCI clone that may need an older firmware version to operate.

The added problems are that with each new version of Diagbox, there are bug fixes to correct problems sometimes in the previous release, and sometimes in even earlier releases. So the golden rule here is not to keep updating unnecessarily, as you may end up continuously updating to fix previous problems - none of which may affect your own car. Plus of course we know that the tele-coding functionality is diminished in each later version from about 7.65 on as it moves to internet configuration, which we can’t do on our clones without payment to PSA for server access.

I did start to provide a list of changes between versions, but stopped at the versions when they started loosing functionality. The change log is on the Wiki here:

https://frenchcarforum.co.uk/wiki/index ... 9/7.06_On)

Gibbo2286
Posts: 2977
Joined: 08 Jun 2011, 18:04
x 312

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by Gibbo2286 » 12 Jul 2018, 10:37

That last link Marc pops up a 'file not found, not on this server' message.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11062
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 933

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by GiveMeABreak » 12 Jul 2018, 11:47

Give it a while Gibbo - Mike may be doing something on the Server - the Wiki isn't available at this moment, but should work when it is back up :-D

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 5694
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 231

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by xantia_v6 » 12 Jul 2018, 12:09

It should be back now, I was doing some server maintenance, and inadvertently disabled the url routing for the wiki.

harryp
Donor 2016
Posts: 621
Joined: 07 May 2011, 16:03
x 24

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by harryp » 13 Jul 2018, 16:18

Marc, thank you for your response. What you are saying is that the software automatically updates the firmware, which on older vehicles may well put it out of the "range" of the ability of the newer VCI to actually communicate. That will make sense sadly; I had assumed (never do that) that the newer VCI would satisfy all, not realising that the software auto updates the firmware with the results I am seeing, or not as it happens.
Thank you again!
Regards, Harry

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11062
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 933

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by GiveMeABreak » 13 Jul 2018, 17:18

Hi Harry

It is a distinct possibility. Diagbox will install the appropriate version of firmware (up or down) according to the table below Harry:

Click to Zoom
Lexia Versions.PNG

harryp
Donor 2016
Posts: 621
Joined: 07 May 2011, 16:03
x 24

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by harryp » 14 Jul 2018, 14:16

Hi Marc
Excellent little table - all explained very succinctly.
Remembering back 6 years or more when I bought my first Chinese clone, "Scary" installed it remotely as the DVD sent was corrupt.... The VCI was not recognised and he had to lower the firmware so that it would run. I had to smile as the "only a few minutes" turned out to be over an hour. Good job I had no idea what he was talking about then :lol: . (not that I am much better now :lol: )
Once again, thank you for your expertise.

BTW I am trying to reload the Service.Citroen via the iso file disk images. Tried on Win7 and the program hung on image3 so left it overnight. Appeared to have finished by morning but would not open with error msg implying that file was corrupt.
Then tried it on Win 10 and none of the Disk Images will open. now running chkdsk as admin and hope this sorts out the problem, if any....
Thanks again and regards, Harry

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11062
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 933

Re: Lexia unable to communicate with ECUs

Post by GiveMeABreak » 14 Jul 2018, 16:30

Hi Harry, those are notoriously hard to install on some systems and the VIN lookup no longer works by the way, since PSA have integrated all marques to the online version only.