Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

This unit is the RT4 and RT5 system and is made by Magneti Marelli
Main differences between RT4 & RT5 - RT5 has Bluetooth Hands Free, faster Navigation calculation and on C4 & C4 Picasso only, USB ports and a High-Res screen.

Moderator: RichardW

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 15:15

This device on the picture downloaded from C6 2007

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by GiveMeABreak » 28 Apr 2018, 15:21

Yes that was the unit in later C6 models. I had the RT3 in my 2005 C5. You have to also think of the screen on these too as they need to be compatible. Try and match the head unit with the same model if possible, or get a quote for repair.

Here’s a link to some repairers, one in the UK and the other in Spain who does these:

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=54055

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 15:27

GiveMeABreak wrote:
28 Apr 2018, 15:21
Yes that was the unit in later C6 models. I had the RT3 in my 2005 C5. You have to also think of the screen on these too as they need to be compatible. Try and match the head unit with the same model if possible, or get a quote for repair.

Here’s a link to some repairers, one in the UK and the other in Spain who does these:

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=54055

I read for this service.But its very far from Bulgaria and much expensive.delivery to spain and back.and for repair .

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by GiveMeABreak » 28 Apr 2018, 15:40

Get a quote, it may be less than you think even with delivery using a courier service. Probably cheaper than a new unit or good second hand one.

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 16:08

GiveMeABreak wrote:
28 Apr 2018, 15:21
Yes that was the unit in later C6 models. I had the RT3 in my 2005 C5. You have to also think of the screen on these too as they need to be compatible. Try and match the head unit with the same model if possible, or get a quote for repair.

Here’s a link to some repairers, one in the UK and the other in Spain who does these:

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=54055

Looks like same.
Attachments
IMG_20180426_143336.jpg
My screen
s-l500.jpg
C6 screen

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by GiveMeABreak » 28 Apr 2018, 16:11

Unfortunately I can't see the code but the number beginning 9661626.... is the model number of the screen.

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 16:13

GiveMeABreak wrote:
28 Apr 2018, 15:40
Get a quote, it may be less than you think even with delivery using a courier service. Probably cheaper than a new unit or good second hand one.

I find this device in the picture second hand
For 100euro

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by GiveMeABreak » 28 Apr 2018, 16:21

The screens all 'look' the same, but they are not - the part numbers are different between your one and the C6 9661626***

Your screen starts 9661236080

The screens actually contain an ECU so need to be compatible with the Head Unit

Your current problem is with the Head Unit not the screen though. :-D

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 16:47

GiveMeABreak wrote:
28 Apr 2018, 16:21
The screens all 'look' the same, but they are not - the part numbers are different between your one and the C6 9661626***

Your screen starts 9661236080

The screens actually contain an ECU so need to be compatible with the Head Unit

Your current problem is with the Head Unit not the screen though. :-D

Yes.My screen is work.But i cant find same device rt 4 from c4 picasso.i find from C6 .and you now say me rt4 from C6 not compatible with my screen.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by GiveMeABreak » 28 Apr 2018, 16:51

What I'm saying is the screens are not the same in the pictures. You can rarely mix and match these units.

What is your VIN? I can see what the screen code is for your system.

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 16:53

GiveMeABreak wrote:
28 Apr 2018, 16:51
What I'm saying is the screens are not the same in the pictures. You can rarely mix and match these units.

What is your VIN? I can see what the screen code is for your system.
Attachments
IMG_20180418_103207.jpg

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 16:53

Here you go.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by GiveMeABreak » 28 Apr 2018, 17:32

Ok, so here is your problem - Citroen only sell the complete instrument panel (over £3100!!!), so very expensive. they don't show the separate screen, so I can't get a code for that.

I would forget about the screen completely and just get an RT4 that is THE SAME as the one in your Picasso, like this:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RT4-radio-na ... Sw1utaz8M0

The earlier units are quite hard to get hold of as you have found out, which keeps the price high.

I simply cannot say whether the C6 unit is compatible with the C4 Picasso for sure - because of the different vehicle architecture, screen etc. and a bit of a risk to take.

User avatar
EDC5
donor 2018
Posts: 1056
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48
x 79

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by EDC5 » 28 Apr 2018, 17:58

GiveMeABreak wrote:
28 Apr 2018, 14:27
Guys this is probably NOT compatible with the C4 Picasso. That is an older system. The RT4 that went into the C4 Picasso is similar to the RT4 used in the early X7.


Yes, the RT4 in that picture is much larger than the single DIN variant of the RT4.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by GiveMeABreak » 28 Apr 2018, 18:04

Good point - size matters!