Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

This unit is the RT4 and RT5 system and is made by Magneti Marelli
Main differences between RT4 & RT5 - RT5 has Bluetooth Hands Free, faster Navigation calculation and on C4 & C4 Picasso only, USB ports and a High-Res screen.

Moderator: RichardW

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 24 Apr 2018, 14:35

GiveMeABreak wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 14:31
Good luck - if this fails, your only other option is to send it to MM for a repair or find a specialist who can reprogramme the EEPROM chip for you and do the update.

Yes thanks to all

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 24 Apr 2018, 16:25

GiveMeABreak wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 14:31
Good luck - if this fails, your only other option is to send it to MM for a repair or find a specialist who can reprogramme the EEPROM chip for you and do the update.

I do everyting what you say me
But no have progres.I
I decided to do something else.i try to change display at tip B two colors.and buy a new standart multymedia with touchscreen.But i don t no conectors is the same.
Thank you to try help me.
Have a nice day friend.

User avatar
EDC5
donor 2018
Posts: 1056
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48
x 79

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by EDC5 » 24 Apr 2018, 21:13

Bibiqn wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 16:25
GiveMeABreak wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 14:31
Good luck - if this fails, your only other option is to send it to MM for a repair or find a specialist who can reprogramme the EEPROM chip for you and do the update.

I do everyting what you say me
But no have progres.I
I decided to do something else.i try to change display at tip B two colors.and buy a new standart multymedia with touchscreen.But i don t no conectors is the same.
Thank you to try help me.
Have a nice day friend.


Have you decided to buy a new head unit?

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 25 Apr 2018, 04:44

EDC5 wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 21:13
Bibiqn wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 16:25
GiveMeABreak wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 14:31
Good luck - if this fails, your only other option is to send it to MM for a repair or find a specialist who can reprogramme the EEPROM chip for you and do the update.

I do everyting what you say me
But no have progres.I
I decided to do something else.i try to change display at tip B two colors.and buy a new standart multymedia with touchscreen.But i don t no conectors is the same.
Thank you to try help me.
Have a nice day friend.


Have you decided to buy a new head unit?

In fact i dont no what to do.

User avatar
EDC5
donor 2018
Posts: 1056
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48
x 79

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by EDC5 » 26 Apr 2018, 21:05

Bibiqn wrote:
25 Apr 2018, 04:44
EDC5 wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 21:13
Bibiqn wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 16:25

I do everyting what you say me
But no have progres.I
I decided to do something else.i try to change display at tip B two colors.and buy a new standart multymedia with touchscreen.But i don t no conectors is the same.
Thank you to try help me.
Have a nice day friend.


Have you decided to buy a new head unit?

In fact i dont no what to do.


I have seen a cheap(er) RT4 on eBay:
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 2939633223

It may be easier than trying to fix the old one if there is an issue with EEPROM.

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 12:09

EDC5 wrote:
26 Apr 2018, 21:05
Bibiqn wrote:
25 Apr 2018, 04:44
EDC5 wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 21:13


Have you decided to buy a new head unit?

In fact i dont no what to do.


I have seen a cheap(er) RT4 on eBay:
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 2939633223

It may be easier than trying to fix the old one if there is an issue with EEPROM.

I find device.Citroen C6 but i dont know is rt4.the seler tell me it is rt3 but look like rt 4.i upload picture to help me what is is.
Attachments
IMG-ff385fd5c07fd716e27a623971b8db44-V.jpg
IMG-1e46338486c47e7b54648f26950ff556-V.jpg
IMG-ffd9923e79dee48140b323096fa23868-V.jpg
IMG-016a4400c1468276dd4a2763aabf5c74-V.jpg

User avatar
Trainman
donor 2018
Posts: 2561
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 8

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Trainman » 28 Apr 2018, 13:29

the quickest way to tell the difference between RT3 and RT$ is, RT3 holds the maps on a CD, whilst RT4 has a HHD for music and maps

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 13:36

Trainman wrote:
28 Apr 2018, 13:29
the quickest way to tell the difference between RT3 and RT$ is, RT3 holds the maps on a CD, whilst RT4 has a HHD for music and maps

I know.but this device i buy at damaged car.the seller cant try device.the car not work.

I hope toy understand me.my english is not good.

User avatar
MikeT
Posts: 4639
Joined: 11 Jun 2007, 16:17
x 160

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by MikeT » 28 Apr 2018, 13:43

The label says it's an RT3 X6 N3

User avatar
Trainman
donor 2018
Posts: 2561
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 8

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Trainman » 28 Apr 2018, 13:44

according to my tame expert, this is an RT3 Evolution which is essentially the RT4

User avatar
Trainman
donor 2018
Posts: 2561
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 8

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Trainman » 28 Apr 2018, 13:46

If it has fibre optic then RT3 also only antenna socket plus two fakra for GPS GSM

The evolution has a row of 4 fakra connectors different colours, and a 30gb

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 13:58

Yes and i thing so.if have 4 colours conector is rt 4.but ther seller say me its rt3.i m confused.
he does not write anywhere have a hdd.

User avatar
Trainman
donor 2018
Posts: 2561
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 8

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Trainman » 28 Apr 2018, 14:02

Basically it's RT4

Bibiqn
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 19:06

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by Bibiqn » 28 Apr 2018, 14:10

I understand.thank toy guys

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Magneti Marelli rt 4 problem

Post by GiveMeABreak » 28 Apr 2018, 14:27

Guys this is probably NOT compatible with the C4 Picasso. That is an older system. The RT4 that went into the C4 Picasso is similar to the RT4 used in the early X7.