Engine load measurement query -C4 Grand Picasso 1.6hdi

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Med_tech3
Posts: 13
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 12:18

Engine load measurement query -C4 Grand Picasso 1.6hdi

Post by Med_tech3 » 13 Nov 2018, 11:47

Currently I have a problem with the car (see my other post) where it hesitates and occasionally the fault light comes on (current issue is P0238). I have a OBDII reader and an app on my phone. I can get simple output readings and fault codes from it. I have used it a few times. I used the reader to monitor live data and am concerned about the load reading I am getting. When the engine is off the reading is 100%! As I am driving it does drop to 0% and then increases in line with the accelerator. It then sporadically falls and rises even if I am on flat ground with my foot stationary on the accelerator. This corresponds with the hesitation of the car.
When I am stopped in traffic and it is idling it can read 0% or 20% or even 30%. Is this right?
If not do you know what fault it could point to?
There also seems to be fumes coming into the cabin too.
Any help would be grately appreciated. Thank you Simon

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 8401
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 251

Re: Engine load measurement query -C4 Grand Picasso 1.6hdi

Post by RichardW » 13 Nov 2018, 13:11

Duplicate thread deleted...

I suspect your code reader is leading you astray - I don't think there is a load measurement. I think you are possibly seeing the EGR valve position, which if out of synch with where the ECU expects it to be can cause stumbles. Can you find EGR valve position request and reported value on the live data?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: Engine load measurement query -C4 Grand Picasso 1.6hdi

Post by GiveMeABreak » 13 Nov 2018, 13:25

I've got another member with one of these generic readers and a phone Ppp and if correct, at least one of his reported codes are providing the wrong fault description for the code too....