Citroen xsara Picasso 2004

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Tribe123
My Cars: Citroen xsara Picasso 2004

Citroen xsara Picasso 2004

Post by Tribe123 »

Please help!?!

My main beam lights aren't working at all and I've been told it needs a new comms unit and quoted 300 for it.
Is this the case, am I able to get them working by spending any less by getting a recon/refurbed unit and asking them to fit that or will I need a new part? Would it work out cheaper for me to get the part myself or just let the garage get?
I have little car knowledge but my MOT is due in a few weeks so I need to sort as soon as I can if anyone can advise please
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
My Cars: C3 Aircross SUV HDi Flair Peperoncino Red (The Chili Hornet)
C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive Mativoire Beige (The Golden Hornet)
C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive Aluminium Grey (The Silver Hornet)
C5 MK II 2.0 HDi Exclusive Obsidian Black
C5 MK I 2.0 HDi SX Wicked Red
Xantia S2 2.0 HDi SX Hermes Red
C15 Romahome White
XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Emerald Green Pearlescent
XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Polar White
XM 2.0 SX Polar White
CX 20 Polar White
GS 1220 Geranium Red
CX 2.4 Prestige C-Matic Nevada Beige
GS 1000 Cedreat Yellow

Re: Citroen xsara Picasso 2004

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Before you do that I would strongly suggest you replace the bulbs. It is extremely common for these to go simultaneously on the Xsara Picasso, often leaving people to replace the comms unit unnecessarily.

Even if the bulb looks good, it surely will be the cheapest and easiest option before a comms unit. Replace both first and check either cabin fuses or the engine fuse depending on year.

Only if you are completely sure it is the comms unit, these will often need coding to your vehicle, depending on your year and option level. There are literally hundreds of these units and the correct one is essential. Pop up your VIN code and I can get the part for you in readiness.