Fault codes...........

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Sloppysod
donor 2017
Posts: 418
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 22

Fault codes...........

Post by Sloppysod » 21 Dec 2017, 11:53

Could not decide where to raise this subject, so if someone knows a better place for it please move it.

I have search the FCF for an answer only for find people asking the same question but very specific to their problem, so.....

Does any one know of a website that will give you a good understanding of what a fault code it trying to say?

http://www.bba-reman.com/gb/content/peu ... s#scrollup - seems to only deal with 'P' codes
http://obdii.pro/en/code/ -looked promising but will not allow input of 4 figure code starting with 'F'

Cheers

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10688
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 889

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by GiveMeABreak » 21 Dec 2017, 12:07

The issue you will have is that there are generic OBD II codes that all manufacturers use, but they are allowed their own 'Manufacturer - Specific' codes and these usually begin with a Letter. These codes may have a vague descriptor within Diagbox - but may provide further information when clicking onto the fault code.

I started compiling a spreadsheet on all the codes - but when I got up to 3939, I decided there was no way I was going to invest the time in finding a detailed description for each of these - it would take too long. So I have just kept the generic code fault name list for reference in the end - unless I need to find the cause and troubleshooting for any in particular.

If there are one or two you have in mind, let me know and I will do my best.

dnsey
Posts: 1541
Joined: 20 Oct 2004, 01:39
x 14

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by dnsey » 22 Dec 2017, 09:26

The great thing about Diagbox / Lexia is that it not only provides the code and general description, but also more detailed diagnostic procedures which are intended to narrow down the fault to component level. Of course, there will always be some odd faults which can only be resolved with skill and persistence.

User avatar
Sloppysod
donor 2017
Posts: 418
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 22

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by Sloppysod » 25 Dec 2017, 17:49

The reason behind this post was that following on from a big fault clear out, I was left with a few strange, unidentified, faults codes.
No. ECU Fault code Description Cause Status Charecterisation of Fault Associated Variables My Comment
1 Multifunction screen F8EB Absence of screen permanent Plus Local - Not Charecterised. - I can see the screen and all functions work!!
2 BSI F40A Oil Gauge Fault Local - Not Charecterised - Oil pressure and temperature 'seem' fine -I will do some more diggi
3 Electronically managed Suspension U2005 Triggering (Vehicle Speed Receipt Anomaly) Distant Permanant Not Charecterised Commumnication error Never seen before?

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10688
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 889

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by GiveMeABreak » 25 Dec 2017, 21:32

Ok:-

1] Have you changed any settings in the BSI or Audio ECU concerinng the type of screen fitted (there are several variations and the correct one needs to be selected)
2] Oil Gauge fault (another member had this last week) - 1131 K6 £24.26 from Citroen Inc. See Pic below: Item number 7
Stu Oil Gauge.PNG
Location:
Stu Oil Gauge B.PNG
Stu Oil Gauge C.PNG
3] You can ignore the last fault - this is caused by the diagnostic tool when running a diagnostic on the ESP ECU - known and confirmed to me as a ghost fault by Citroen - so long as it isn't accompanied by a dash warning concerning the suspension.

User avatar
Sloppysod
donor 2017
Posts: 418
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 22

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by Sloppysod » 26 Dec 2017, 09:43

Hi Marc,
No, I have not changed anything recently on the radio, the last was a year or so ago when I added the front parking sensors. I am not too bothered at the moment as everything is working. However, if the fault is still there the next time I look I will dig deeper.
As for the oil gauge fault, thanks. However, I would have thought if it was important the fault appear on the dash.
Cheers.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10688
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 889

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by GiveMeABreak » 26 Dec 2017, 10:05

It’s a combined temperature and pressure sensor that one, It may just be the start of it being on its way out, and if it gets any worse then it might trigger the warning message on the dash.

User avatar
Sloppysod
donor 2017
Posts: 418
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 22

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by Sloppysod » 05 Oct 2018, 17:32

I changed the Oil Pressure Switch (1131-K6), due to fault code F40a, a while back and never got around to checking for any faults until now as I now have an error message on the dash saying "Oil level measurement invalid"
When I checked today the F40a code is gone but another fault has appeared in both the BSI & in the instrument panel sections, F159 - "Oil Level Information Fault", I can erase it from the instrument panel section but not the BSI, however, it reappears in the instrument panel section - any ideas, could the replacement part be faulty?
My oil level is spot on, my car does not use any (noticeable) between services so no panic - I hope, but I feel i really need to fix the problem, what ever it is.
Thanks in advance.

moizeau
donor 2018
Posts: 357
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 37

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by moizeau » 05 Oct 2018, 18:39

I get the first fault if the car is in eco mode whilst being read, start the car turn on the radio and check again, on mine it disappears.

User avatar
Sloppysod
donor 2017
Posts: 418
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 22

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by Sloppysod » 05 Oct 2018, 20:52

moizeau wrote:
05 Oct 2018, 18:39
I get the first fault if the car is in eco mode whilst being read, start the car turn on the radio and check again, on mine it disappears.

Yes, possible, but I get the error message on the dash every time I turn the ignition on. Me thinks something bigger, possible fault somewhere.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 10688
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 889

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by GiveMeABreak » 06 Oct 2018, 14:39

I did right a long post this morning, but died a death due to Forum issues, so I'm sure you'll be pleased with the short version Stu: :-D

Details of the fault follow below, however I am aware that this problem can additionally be caused by 2 things:

1) Having a little more oil towards the maximum end can trigger it, or that the sheath of the probe itself can affect the measurement - and they have moved or replaced it in some cases. Normally it is s temporary fault and can also occur when the car is left on an incline. It should disappear, but if your physical oil measurement is a little ont he high side, sucking a little out may also cure the problem.

Failing that and if you are sure the part is correct, a software update may also rectify it.

Basically F159 is as you say the oil pressure sensor anomaly.

The oil level is measured correctly (Around 4750 ms).
The voltage measured is not within the range of authorised voltages (Lower than 40 mV or higher than 675 mV)

The light will kick in:
  • Ignition switched on
  • Engine not running
  • After the built-in systems interface has switched to dormant mode
The fault will disappear when:
  • The oil level is measured correctly
  • The voltage measured is within the range of authorised voltages
Suspects:
  • Connector
  • Configuration of the BSI
  • Engine ECU
  • Engine fusebox
  • Electrical harnesses
The Oil level and temp. gauge communication is via filament type signal directly to the Engine Fuse Box.

Now there are 2 types of oil pressure sensor - the correct one for your car should be Part 1131C5.

User avatar
Sloppysod
donor 2017
Posts: 418
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 22

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by Sloppysod » 12 Oct 2018, 00:05

Thanks for the time you spent, and that was lost!! - Sorry for the late reply but been on the Mon & Brec, perhaps I should add that to viewtopic.php?f=2&t=60453.
I seem to have got my descriptions mixed up a little, in my earlier post I replaced part 1131 k6 that I said was the "Oil Pressure Switch" which is actually the "Engine Oil Gauge"- :(
The part 1131C5 actually is the "Oil pressure switch, but surely if this was faulty then I would also get oil pressure warnings instead!

User avatar
Sloppysod
donor 2017
Posts: 418
Joined: 23 May 2015, 23:35
x 22

Re: Fault codes...........

Post by Sloppysod » 13 Oct 2018, 23:40

Problem fixed, my dipsticks max is about 2 mm less than where it should be, I syphoned about 650ml of oil out, oil on dipstick is now just above midway, and the error message changed to "Oil level correct". I don't usually fill an engine to its max mark but obviously must have done so this time and it being very slightly over the max made the difference. - Lesson learnt. :oops: