C5 Tyre pressure sensors

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by GiveMeABreak » 25 Mar 2016, 01:16

Yep, go for the originals. They should all be the modified stock now - the originals were made of reactive metals that caused premature failure. I had all mine replaced FOC after the whole unit in one tyre exploded out on the dual carriageway. Nothing was left except the hole in the alloy! Could of been fatal if it hit a small child. They are aware of this issue.

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2885
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 174

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by Paul-R » 25 Mar 2016, 10:21

My 2013 (63) C5 X7 is going into the dealer on Wednesday for them to look at an occasional error message that shows the front LH tyre pressure not being monitored. Could it be a year that needs them all changing?

User avatar
qprdude
Posts: 1744
Joined: 06 Apr 2012, 18:56
x 8

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by qprdude » 25 Mar 2016, 10:33

During a Diagbox/lexia session done by HellRazor last year, it threw up a fault saying FNS monitor not found/operating. It actually works just fine. Just be sure it's not a spurious error message before you pay out your hard earned. I'm told that potholes, kerbing and other jolts can bring up a fault code, which then stays until it is cleared. I take it you have let 10psi out of the tyre and driven a mile or so to see if the "beep" warning and the "front left tyre pressure low" message appears.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by GiveMeABreak » 25 Mar 2016, 12:45

Paul-R wrote:My 2013 (63) C5 X7 is going into the dealer on Wednesday for them to look at an occasional error message that shows the front LH tyre pressure not being monitored. Could it be a year that needs them all changing?
The current part numbers are 5430 T4, for the actual sensor module. I believe they simply changed the materials - but the issue was not simply the manufacturer - it was also the tyre fitters simply not understanding and taking out the valve stems and replacing them with the old type that could cause the reaction process again. This is why the sell a repair kit that contains all the caps, valves etc., so a catch 22 here!

User avatar
Paul-R
Posts: 2885
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 174

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by Paul-R » 30 Mar 2016, 18:39

Paul-R wrote:My 2013 (63) C5 X7 is going into the dealer on Wednesday for them to look at an occasional error message that shows the front LH tyre pressure not being monitored. Could it be a year that needs them all changing?
Dropped the car off this morning. They phoned at lunchtime to say the pressure sender of the valve had been at fault. They had one in stock and so I have the car back with no costs incurred.

Let's hope that it really is the answer.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by GiveMeABreak » 30 Mar 2016, 18:57

Nice one Paul.

User avatar
ozzdownunder
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Apr 2016, 07:25

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by ozzdownunder » 04 Nov 2018, 09:25

Hi, not certain if this is the correct way to get an answer but as its related subject I thought it appropriate.
I do own a Citroen C5X7 2010 2L Turbo diesel sedan and noticed that the message came up on the small screen that the rear right tyre needed air and SERVICE light came on.
I checked the tyre pressure and make certain that 33psi was allround for all tyres. The message remained also the Service Indicator stays and the tyre pressures are ok. Is there anyway to reset this without learning algebra.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by GiveMeABreak » 04 Nov 2018, 09:40

33 PSI is too low. On the Saloon, they should all be 2.4 BAR or 34.8 (35) PSI. Also pressures should be checked when cold - if checking when the tyres are hot, then 3-4 PSI should be added to this value. As you are a little low already this is triggering the warning.

For a loaded car, the rears (only) should be 2.8 BAR or 40.6 (41) PSI

The TPMS system is rarely wrong - so re-check the tyres again or use another gauge.

There is nothing to reset, the system self checks and monitors all the time. Get the pressures double checked and then go for a drive it is hasn't already cancelled the error.
I would also suggest you try another air meter / garage as these can also get out of calibration.

User avatar
ozzdownunder
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Apr 2016, 07:25

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by ozzdownunder » 06 Nov 2018, 23:48

Good advise, will recheck with another gauge and add some more air to 35psi. Meantime the following day it seems to have normalized itself, no more warning or service indicators showing. All I need to find is a continuous 12VDC power source for the Car Cam and all life will be back to normal 😀👍

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 11624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 990

Re: C5 Tyre pressure sensors

Post by GiveMeABreak » 07 Nov 2018, 12:11

ozzdownunder wrote:
06 Nov 2018, 23:48
All I need to find is a continuous 12VDC power source for the Car Cam and all life will be back to normal 😀👍

In order to keep this topic related to TPMS, I've now created a new topic for the C5 Dash Camera & Fuses issue here and moved the relevant posts:

C5 X7 Dash Camera Topic Moved Here